Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I am a 6th form student starting upper soon. I saw my bad results yesterday and now I am in a bit of a dilemma and need help deciding. Tbh, I was expecting to breeze through the exams like with gcse and didn't study hard enough.

I need AAB for the university I want to apply to and I am currently at ABB. My results are: Math A-level A(547/600), Physics AS B(212/300), Computing AS B(151/200).

I will try to get A* in Maths by retaking C4 (80/100) and C3 (90/100) or just C4. I will also try to get A in Further Maths but I am not sure how well I will fair with F.Math.

To focus purely on F.Math, I need to drop physics or computing so that I have less distractions. (I wont try to get A in physics or computing because they are not as fun for me as maths).

I think that computing with it's Comp4 Project will be more distracting than Physics with its 2 exam 1 practical. Personally, I want to study both but I know that my grades are likely to suffer if I do.

Here are my choices:
    #1 - Drop computing. Deal with memorizing new physics concepts (the math part to physics is as easy as half tau)

#2 - Drop physics. Deal with the headache of meeting deadlines for Comp4 project.

#3 - Take both and be happy but risk chance of not making it to university.

Percentage-wise, I am doing better at computing than physics but I am almost certain that comp4 project will deal a crushing blow to my grades. Whats preventing me from dropping computing is my love for programing (+ the logic part of computer science). What makes me hate computing is the IT-like, mainly coursework, part of it.

Few more problems I face:

In my current college, its compulsory to take an additional study course if we only do 3 A-levels. I will be getting rid of 1 distraction and taking up another (hopefully less distracting) distraction.