Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all, I start a part time distance learning MSc in Sept and will be continuing to work full time with my employer. Basically I will be studying during my commute (1hr a day), some evenings and at the weekends. I appreciate this is probably a difficult question to answer, as courses will vary, but I'm trying to gauge how realistic I'm being about the demands on my time. I'd love to hear from others who have done/doing something similar. Was it doable to fit in around a full time job? Am I being realistic? Many Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying for an Msc via distance learning whilst working full time. I've completed 2 modules (60 credits) so far and it's been manageable. I'm terrible at keeping to set times to study, and often bring a couple of hours work home with me, so I tend to cram study time into some weekends and have sat up all night (at the weekend) to finish a long assignment.

If you are a very organised person, or have a job where you don't tend to bring work home, then you should be fine. Of course I have no idea which course you intend to take or which university is running it, so I can only talk from my own personal experience with the university of Leicester. Also I still have the dissertation ahead of me next year so I could be talking rubbish!

Gaining enough credits to gain a GradCert has been surprisingly easy after worrying about being able to manage the academic writing required - I hadn't any experience of academic study since completing my first degree in 2000.

Basically, if it's something you really want to do then you will manage to find the time somehow. Good luck

ReputationRep:
    Thanks. There are no exams according to the info I've seen so I take it you just keep up to date with the reading and then complete the assignments as and when required? How much time do you spend on the reading in a typical week?

ReputationRep: