Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Mickey Mouse Degrees Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hello! In September, I am going to be studying International Hospitality Management at the University of Surrey. It's one of the main courses at the University (Surrey is ranked 8th in the country) and it is the number one University for the course in the country. I'm really interested in the industry and aspire to be a manager at a Jumeirah hotel which is a Dubai based hotel chain and one of it's hotels is the Burj al Arab, the 7* hotel, in Dubai. To work for Jumeirah as a manager, it requires a Hospitality/Business related degree. I was reading online earlier that people consider business related degrees to be ''Mickey Mouse'' subjects and it's made me worried to tell people what I am studying. Will people judge me and look down on me as they may consider their course to be superior? A lot of reputable people have come out of Surrey doing this degree, such as Robert Earl who was the founder of Planet Hollywood and also George Diakogeorgiou who is the founder of lastminute.com. It may well be a simpler degree to say Law or something, but at the end of the day, there are a lot of jobs in Business/Hospitality so finding a job after the degree won't be AS difficult (Although still difficult in this climate). Whereas there are a lot of degrees where getting a job afterwards can be near impossible, for example my aunty studied History, couldn't get any employment with a very good degree and is now a coach driver..

ReputationRep:

ReputationRep:
    To be honest, I wouldn't regard it as a 'mickey mouse' degree if it's necessary for your career. For me personally I wouldn't choose it, because my interests lay elsewhere, however if it interests you and will help you in your career then go for it.

ReputationRep:
    I apologise for the lack paragraphs, my enter button isnt working. Thanks for the reply, yeah you're right