Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am an international student coming to university of manchester this fall. I have booked a studio with UNITE at piccadilly point. Lately, I have heard many bad rumors about it, and how high their prices are.

Unfortunately, my booking is confirmed, and I have signed a contract with them. What do you think should I do now? Can I tolerate their problems throughout the year or my life gonna be hell ?! Putting aside the rip off issue, will I be living peacefully with them?

The following things made me choose unite:

1. No Guarantor.
    2. Can pay by installments.
    3. Very close to university.
    4. Known company for several years.
    5. University accommodation does not offer studios for single occupancy.

ReputationRep:
    If you've signed a contract with them, and there are no get-out clauses in the contract, then you're stuck and you'll have to pay up.

However, it's not a course of action I would have chosen - points 1-4 apply to the university accommodation, and studios are (a) not necessary, and (b) potentially quite isolating.

ReputationRep:
    My sister has lived with them for nearly 2 years now. They were fine. A little expensive but she thought it was worth it for the comfort and security. Plus there are loads of places to eat around there. She travelled using the magic bus.

ReputationRep:
    My sister has lived with them for nearly 2 years now. They were fine. A little expensive but she thought it was worth it for the comfort and security. Plus there are loads of places to eat around there. She travelled using the magic bus http://www.unibuspass.com/unirider-manchester/ which stops right outside and takes you to all the main buildings. So all in all - she finds it a safe place.

ReputationRep: