Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I've been thinking about going into teaching but I'm not sure if I'd be a good teacher because I'm not very confident. I had a part-time job as a teaching assistant while I was at uni and I really enjoyed it and I got very positive feedback from the department. I mostly worked with small groups though and I worked at a good school in a nice area so I'm not sure if I'd be able to handle kids who don't want to learn. One of my friends did a PGCE and she was placed in two schools in rough areas in East London and she had a really difficult time so I'm quite worried. I'm thinking about going into secondary teaching (modern languages) or possibly teaching adults. I'm not very good with young children so primary school teaching wouldn't be a option for me.

Any thoughts?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ginger.)
    I've been thinking about going into teaching but I'm not sure if I'd be a good teacher because I'm not very confident. I had a part-time job as a teaching assistant while I was at uni and I really enjoyed it and I got very positive feedback from the department. I mostly worked with small groups though and I worked at a good school in a nice area so I'm not sure if I'd be able to handle kids who don't want to learn. One of my friends did a PGCE and she was placed in two schools in rough areas in East London and she had a really difficult time so I'm quite worried. I'm thinking about going into secondary teaching (modern languages) or possibly teaching adults. I'm not very good with young children so primary school teaching wouldn't be a option for me.

Any thoughts?