The Student Room Group

Have several questions for the postgraduate! please help

I'm currently studying in Kingston University and I have got a first. I've did a course BSc(Hons) course (joint honors). Will there be any chance for me to get in to cambridge or oxford for the postgraduate masters degree?
Also is it normally sept~oct for the application to open?

Thanks
(edited 10 years ago)
Hi :smile:

You'll never know unless you try. You have a great grade and if your references and personal statement is good, I'm sure you have a good chance. If you're unsure, discuss this with your personal advisor/ tutor for their input.
Whilst the university you choose is important, the hierarchy in universities shifts a little when it comes to postgraduate studies. Whilst Oxford/Cambridge may seem out of reach for an undergraduate degree, I think you'll find that as a postgraduate it's far less of an intimidating process. Whilst standards are high, I think applications are considered more on an individual basis than they are when you apply for an undergraduate degree. What subject are you thinking of studying? Oxford/Cambridge may not necessarily be the best university to go to for your chosen subject.

As for the application process, it's best contacting each university individually as they're all a little different.

Good luck!
Reply 3
When it comes to postgrad the first thing they look at is your grades/application, then your reference, then your performance at interview (if you have one), then what topic your dissertation is/past work (on the basis that you're still young, so if you tick the other boxes you can still learn, but even so having past experience does help a bit).

Oxbridge isn't as big a deal when it comes to post grad. With a first and a good reference you should find it reasonably straight forward to get onto a masters anywhere. You're basically top of the pile. However getting funding for a masters is hard no matter what grades you have.
Reply 4