The Student Room Group

Best way to get into Sales and Trading? Law grad

So, I graduated with a 2.1 from Newcastle University in Law last month and I realised last year that I want to pursue a career in banking, specifically trading. I don't have much experience at all and I am not sure if my degree or course will be much use since it is very competitive. My experience is limited to a mini-pupillage, running a affiliate marketing venture for 3 years with 2 years during university (PPC) and some voluntary charity work. I also helped to co-ordinate the University's annual charity fashion show and helped to co-ordinate a development programme for disadvantage local 16 year olds.

None of this really stands out and that is the problem I am having, I am not really a strong candidate. I really need more financial related experience to talk about other than my sales experience with marketing.

What would your advice to me be on what I should do to give myself a better chance... do i have much of a chance at all?
Reply 1
Would really appreciate the help. You would win a friend for life.

2005_07_21_shrek_cat1.jpg
Reply 2
What are your A levels?
Do a masters at a more "target" uni, get involved in everything societies etc. You then have more of a chance. Atm it's looking bleak.
Reply 4
Well if you don't have at least ABB/AAB at A levels, then you will not be able to get into a bank. In which case it is pointless obtaining an expensive masters degree over work experience. If you do have the minimum grades, the best thing to do is network if you want to work in a bank somehow and undertake a masters if affordable - but this may be to no avail. The other options are to apply for IDBs and move sideways, or trade support roles in the buy-side, or just to go into prop trading.

You haven't mentioned what you want to trade. What asset class are you interested in?