The Student Room Group

Complete Beginner, strength training

So basically I'll be starting the gym in September and I'll be a complete beginner to strength training.

Any advice for where to start? Routines? How often per week? Anything that'll help really!

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I do 20 minutes strength (40 minute full session when you include warm up and whatnot) 3 times a week.
I have the occasional protein drink but nothing more.

I do 3 sets of 12 reps on each weight station at the gym in no particular order and row for 10 minutes at full resistance. Seems to be okay. Nothing intense. Would be a good place to start. Give it a go :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by tamimi
I do 20 minutes strength (40 minute full session when you include warm up and whatnot) 3 times a week.
I have the occasional protein drink but nothing more.

I do 3 sets of 12 reps on each weight station at the gym in no particular order and row for 10 minutes at full resistance. Seems to be okay. Nothing intense. Would be a good place to start. Give it a go :smile:

You say 3 sets, how long in between each set do you wait?
Reply 3
No longer will you see food as food but how many grams of protein/carbohydrates/fats :cry:
Reply 4
Original post by Supes
No longer will you see food as food but how many grams of protein/carbohydrates/fats :cry:

I already do, well carbs, having t1 diabetes :tongue:
Make sure you lift as heavy as possible and not quit after 1 month. 3 sets of 8-12 reps.

If I've just moved up 1 kg on dumbbells I would start at 8 reps and continue. Eat as much meat as is humanly possible. How many times per week you go depends on how much time you have.
Eat well (protein shakes not essential but certainly helpful and efficient)

Sleep well

I'd say 3x a week - have a look at Stronglifts or SS