The Student Room Group

Too old for university?

Hello all,

New to these forums so please be kind!

Im 22 at the moment and have just started some A Levels. I would like to go to university after but I shall be 23/24.

I left college three years ago but like many had no idea really what I wanted to do as a career. I knew it would be creative arts but not knowing what area int he creative arts. So now, three years later, I have finally decided I want to go in to Graphic design / communication.

I am now studying Graphic Design A level to rebuild my non existant portfolio. I have not decided definately about university but judging by research, mosts successful designers need and have a degree so it is a possibility.

Problem is my parents are very much against the idea and have somewhat 'old fashioned' views that you must get a fulltime job when your 23/24.
The father keeps reminding me I would be 26 when I graduate and by that time I should be settled down with a full time job even if its not what I am studying for. Sounds like I am commiting a cardinal sin!

Is starting college at 23/24 too old? I feel time is ticking to go to university as I want to study hard but also have a good social experience still in my twenties.

Just looking for some opinions.

Scroll to see replies

Original post by tearsforfears1
Hello all,

Im 22 at the moment and have just started some A Levels. I would like to go to university after but I shall be 23/24.

I left college three years ago but like many had no idea really what I wanted to do as a career. I knew it would be creative arts but not knowing what area int he creative arts. So now, three years later, I have finally decided I want to go in to Graphic design / communication.

I am now studying Graphic Design A level to rebuild my non existant portfolio. I have not decided definately about university but judging by research, mosts successful designers need and have a degree so it is a possibility.