The Student Room Group

"Embellishing" your CV vs lying - where to draw the line?

OK as a general rule I don't like lying as it's inevitable that it will come back one day to bite you, but is it acceotable to exaggerate slightly what you did for work experience for example? A couple of years ago I carried out work experience in this company, but the work I did wasn't exactly challenging - it was organised through a business and cultural exchange programme, so there was also emphasis on cultural activities around where I was based. I did "work" at the company, and I have a recommendation letter from my supervisor to prove it, but it was mainly things like identifying potential clients, or even proofreading the English on its website. I do regret not asking for more work to do, as it really wasn't all that much. My question is, is it OK to maybe exaggerate slightly on this? Or just leave it off my CV completely?

Also I have had some other work experience since then, so would employers want to check up on every work placement you put on your CV, or only the most recent ones?
(edited 10 years ago)
I personally think exaggerating is a form of lying but just not as bad as an outright lie, so for instance if I was to fake enthusiasm to give me a better chance of getting a job. I wouldn't recommend it to be honest.
Reply 2
I'm in similar situation, my work experience wasn't something unique or challenging nor amazing, I did basic tasks which where majority of the time organising documents and some filling or translating something. I just leave as it is because if I say I did Reception work and they would contact my previous employer, they would tell them I didn't do and then I would get in trouble :erm:
Reply 3
Original post by Multitalented me
I personally think exaggerating is a form of lying but just not as bad as an outright lie, so for instance if I was to fake enthusiasm to give me a better chance of getting a job. I wouldn't recommend it to be honest.