The Student Room Group

Economics and Religious Studies no longer sought by Top Universities

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-21187085

Is this a joke? I'd argue that RS and certainly Economics is on par, if not more challenging than Geography.

They're now seen on par with Media Studies and Critical Thinking. Are Nottingham and York trolling?

Discuss.
Reply 1
Surprised at Economics. I know it isn't exactly rocket science at A level, but still.
(edited 10 years ago)
Video lists subjects you should study

Yes: Mathematics, History, Chemistry, Biology, Physics, Geography, English Literature, Languages

No: Economics, Media Studies, Electronics, Music, Critical Thinking, Citizenship Studies, Leisure Studies & Religious Studies

Economics seems to stand out on the No list to me :confused: I'm probably biased since I studied it mind.
Reply 3
Funnily enough there was an article in Saturdays Times saying that economists are absolutely useless as whenever we need them to predict things they never can.

"So whats the point of this truly "dismal science" " it asked.
Many unis have been against A levels such as Economics, psychology, sociology, archaeology, astronomy, computer science and similar for a long time. Yet others will ask for the above at the highest grade, if being taken, for a degree in the same subject. Yet the same unis will accept a portfolio of just 'core' from the yes list without a problem.

Putting music on the no list is stupid if people are going to study music, it is mandatory (or alternative with written confirmation that A level was not offered) at at least two RG unis I know.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 5
When I first found this site I was surprised how well-regarded Economics is here. In my country it was regarded as a "soft" subject by the snobs, and the best schools didn't offer it.