The Student Room Group

Need Urgent Advice for last minute clearing!

Ok so it turns out that me waiting on my gap year to apply for Kings isn't going to happen, I did a BTEC Extended Diploma with grades D*D*D*, I want to go into the games industry as a games programmer so which clearing course would be best for me?

If there any other courses you know of please tell me, thanks in advance.

Brunel University - Computer Science (Digital Media and Games)
City University - Computer Science with Games Technology
Royal Holloway - Computer Science
Kingston University - Computer Science (Games Programming)

Also is it possible for me to do 1 year at one of these universities and then transfer myself to Kings College London on the 2nd year?

Another question how long will student finance take to arrive and what should I do if I don't get it when term starts? Plus I live in the north of the UK and need to find accomodation in London.
(edited 10 years ago)
It may be possible to transfer, but you will have to accept that it is not. Why can you no longer take a gap year?

Your student finance is very unlikely to arrive before term starts at this stage. Do you have any savings to live on? The university may offer you some support, or you may have to use your overdraft and get a job. Could your parents offer you some support?

Accomadation is difficult. Anything left at this stage in London is likely to be expensive, awful, or in an inconvenient location. You will need to pay a deposit ASAP to seccure a place as well. It is very likely you will be asked for rent before your loan comes though. University accomadation may be understanding about this, but private accomadation will be less so. Ask the universities when you contact them if they still have any accomadation spaces left.

This is going to be very difficult financially, and it really would be much better to take a gap year.
Reply 2