The Student Room Group

inevitable failure or go for it?

Hi guys

I am a hopeful future applicant for 2015 entry and was hoping to get a bit of advice. I graduated with a biochemistry degree back in 2008 (2:1) and have been working as a lab assistant last 4 years. Before that I did 4 years as a HCA and am currently working for the ambulance service. I Recently decided to go wholeheartedly for grad med.

Qualifications: GNVQ health and social care
Access to Health Sciences
BSc Biochemistry 2:1

I am planning to take intensive alevels this year.

1) I am assuming I need to take A-level Bio and Chem at minimum A or better. Should I add more alevels?

2) I know Bmat is a given, but I'm wondering whether there's good solid advice out there that could help me get to oxford.

3) besides uk open college, is there any distance learning places that anyone found really good?

4) besides Campbell Harris, is there any centre to take practicals and coursework assessment for bio and Chem that are really good? And are reasonably priced?

5) is oxford even a possibility for me or should I just give up on it?

Any advice would be welcome...
Original post by luusha
Hi guys

I am a hopeful future applicant for 2015 entry and was hoping to get a bit of advice. I graduated with a biochemistry degree back in 2008 (2:1) and have been working as a lab assistant last 4 years. Before that I did 4 years as a HCA and am currently working for the ambulance service. I Recently decided to go wholeheartedly for grad med.

Qualifications: GNVQ health and social care
Access to Health Sciences
BSc Biochemistry 2:1

I am planning to take intensive alevels this year.

1) I am assuming I need to take A-level Bio and Chem at minimum A or better. Should I add more alevels?

2) I know Bmat is a given, but I'm wondering whether there's good solid advice out there that could help me get to oxford.

3) besides uk open college, is there any distance learning places that anyone found really good?