The Student Room Group

Too old for Uni life

Hi,

I'm starting uni soon, but I am 24.

Am I too old to have the normal social experience (don't really want to hang out with the mature students), and have relationships etc?

I dropped out of school at 16, and missed out completely on life and the normal things you go through from 16-24. Although, I went to a college from 23 - 24, I didn't mix at all really with the 16 year olds and just came in for my lessons. It was really awkward at college because of my age, and I am dreading uni will be the same.

I have never had a girlfriend before, and would like to start with someone who is 18 or 19, as I don't want to date someone my age who will be mentally older than I am ( I still feel like I am a teen to be honest because of my situation).

I would also like to flirt and hit on girls (as I have never done this before), but will people just think I am a pedo or something if I flirt with 18 or 19 years?
I will eventually date people my own age, it's just I am not ready at all (never even kissed a girl).

I also can only see the situation getting worse while I'm at uni, in the sense that I will be 27 in my last year, and most people will only be 21.

So what do you guys think?
(edited 10 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

I don't think you're too old, absolutely not.

I also don't think people will think you're a paedo for flirting with younger girls - I mean, the age gap isn't THAT big, and you're still a student etc. Maybe you could go for girls who are in older years (i.e. 3rd year etc) since they'll be 20 or 21 (if they took a gap year.) You can still definitely have fun and take advantage of university life!

Original post by wookierookie
Hi,

Am I too old to have the normal social experience (don't really want to hang out with the mature students), and have relationships etc?