The Student Room Group

Support worker/healthcare - been treated unfairly. Any advice?

ABOUT ME:

I currently have just over 1 year's experience in health and social care
I am just turned 20
I have lived in the UK all my life
I have got a full set of GCSE's
I am currently studying for my QCF level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care (all self-funded at a cost of £1000
I have wanted to become a Clinical Psychologist ever since 13, when I learned about careers/job choices
I genuinely care about people and really feel for those requiring care
I get extreme social anxiety (has been so far life-long)
I have paid for my first module of an OPEN UNIVERSITY degree in PSYCHOLOGY which has started this month
I drive to work since having learned to drive 1 year ago
I am an 'Assistant Care Worker'

MY SITUATION, BASICALLY...

I got fed up with my job because of the lack of organisation in the company I work for, the lack of support, the lack of solidarity within the staff team and the way in which I feel I have been treated by the manager&co
I had received a disciplinary hearing at my job about 8 months earlier (due to faking sickness to as a way to get time off, on *one* occasion)
I started a job search for 6 months solid, applying to the same companies repeatedly
I got offered 2 job interviews within different companies, in the same month
I went to both interviews and got offered both jobs 'subject to references'
One of the job offers gave me a starting date (because I particularly impressed them at the interview so much) but the other did not give me a starting date
I handed in my notice at my current job
The HR dept. at my job take an extremely long time to reply to people requesting references generally
There is so much crap (that my manager has made up and exaggerated) on my record, that I may not get either of the jobs due to unsatisfactory reference