Which language will be more useful German or Spanish?

Watch
gio9420
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
I am going to do Economics in the university. Which language shall I start studying Spanish or German (considering the fact that I am already fluent in Russian) ?
Thank you in advance.

Posted from TSR Mobile
saraw26
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Spanish is more widely spoken, so that may be more useful.

Also it's more similar to other European languages, so may then lead on to learning Italian etc
Plantagenet Crown
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Generally, I'd say spanish, but it really depends. I have no idea if in today's economic climate German is better for economics, or if the best jobs for economics are in german/english speaking countries.
hattiemcbinky
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
I had to make this decision too, I am studying French and didn't know which language to add on - Spanish or German. The German lecturer told me to "go where the jobs are" and because I think I might want to be a languages teacher, I searched through vacancies and 99% of the language teaching jobs were requesting Spanish to be part of it, and my French teacher had always said that Latin America is on the rise so that is how I eventually chose to do Spanish. Best of luck

Posted from TSR Mobile
User990473
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
It depends. Russian, English and German would be great for European economics but Spanish (especially Latin American) opens up the practically bilingual Americas.
Pastaferian
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by gio9420)
I am going to do Economics in the university. Which language shall I start studying Spanish or German (considering the fact that I am already fluent in Russian) ?
Thank you in advance.
German is becoming a lingua franca in central and eastern Europe, but if you want to work in the Americas, Spanish would be a better language to study.
gio9420
Rep:
?