Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone.

I am currently in my AS year and i am only studying three A levels, hoping to do Computer Science. I am looking to apply to mainly these types of Unis (Birmingham Warwick etc) not Oxbridge. Will having only three As put me at a disadvantage as opposed to people who are doing four A levels.

I appreciate your help. thanks.
    • Community Assistant
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Very Important Poster
    (Original post by 1235)
    Hello everyone.

I am currently in my AS year and i am only studying three A levels, hoping to do Computer Science. I am looking to apply to mainly these types of Unis (Birmingham Warwick etc) not Oxbridge. Will having only three As put me at a disadvantage as opposed to people who are doing four A levels.

Well, only 3 A2s will be required but you'll have to check their course requirements to see whether a 4th AS would be required.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 1235)
    Hello everyone.

Of course, when you apply to university, you are in competition with everyone else who applies for that course. Some of the applicants will be better qualified than you (better grades, more A levels, better grades IN more A levels!) and some will be less qualified. Some will have a personal statement that would blow yours out of the water; some will have a rubbish personal statement that would make you cringe if you read it. Some will have a reference that reads like a nomination for the Nobel Prize; others will have a reference in which the teacher struggled to find something good to write about.

Your application is the sum of all these parts. Compared to some of your "competitors", you will be, as you put it, "at a disadvantage"; compared to others, yours will have the clear advantage.

If you fulfil the entry requirements for a particular course, then you have in the broadest sense of the words, "as good a chance as any".