Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,

Just as the title suggests, I want to drop out of university. I've just started my second year but I've come to the realisation that university isn't going to help me at all with what I want to do, which is open a business.

I'm studying a business course but I still feel as though I'm learning a lot of theory, things that will not actually benefit me in real life. The only reason I came to university was because I was hoping to learn some things that will benefit me when it comes to my own business, NOT because I want a degree as I'm not planning on ever getting a professional job.

Just want to hear some other views on this? And before anyone mentions this, I'm not interested in having something to fall back on. I can't put myself through another 3 years (I'm on a 4 year course) of this tourture. I'd rather get some real life experience and work on my business as well instead of wasting my time and money at university.

ReputationRep:
    there is more than one way in which a university can help you open your own business. You can make a lot of contacts at university who may eventually provide you with things like publicity, help with finance, legal advice and perhaps customers and employees.

I'm interested in why you think of your course as torture and what exactly you plan to do if you leave. Do you have a business idea and a plan for starting your own business? If not then acquiring a degree would seem a good use of your time.

I've seen a failure rate quoted of 1 in 3 new businesses within 3 years. Although your course may not seem very helpful yet it will start to go into more depth now. presumably you have a year in industry next year if it's a 4 year course?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by parentlurker)