Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    So I was somewhat intent on applying for Music at Cambridge as I'm an aspiring composer who, while originally deciding between Oxford and Cambridge for music, found that the Cambridge course suits me slightly better. However I'm having a huge dilemma. There's many reasons for it, but the one at the forefront now is that Cambridge requires I travel there for interview/audition which I'm not sure I can do.

I had been toying with applying to study music at Cambridge or Oxford next year, but also possibly History as I have an immense passion for history as well as music. After much research and email back and forths with both universities it seemed that Cambridge was more in tune with my interests musically, while Oxford provided more of a chance for me in terms of history due to their HAT test and my less than stellar academic past. Broadly, my musical interests are: composing (career goal), film music, early music, romantic music, musicology and world music, but most of all composing as creating music is my thing.

However, I'm extremely timid about applying to Cambridge as I have a lack of a classical background. I've thought maybe instead pursuing a degree in history since I'm better at it academically is smarter, but I know music is my career goal and history is more of just a passion. I should probably give you a little further background information and explain how my music background is more rock/pop than classical.