Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I started an Event Management Degree with my local college September. i've recently finished in the merchant navy and I did 6 years from when I left school. I'm 22 now. I enjoy the lectures and the group size is so much smaller, but I am a little concerned about writing essays etc.

The college takes the degrees from Plymouth University, so it's not a proper university, and it's only 2 days a week. Can anyone give me some guidance on some good material for getting started? Being a chef I am very hands on, so certain academic aspects seem harder to me?

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    This from Reading may be helpful:

http://www.reading.ac.uk/internal/st...elopessay.aspx

Good luck with your course

ReputationRep:
    Your uni may have some kind of help / guidance service where they post about how to write essays and stuff like that.

However failing that here is a link to an Australian (I think) university help page which was recommended to be my a lecturer. Its pretty good and has lots of samples so you can see what they mean.

ReputationRep:
    plan in sections just write down a quick plan under each section write down what questions you want to raise what points you want to make and remember to refrence.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    I was given some basic advice on structuring an essay, which helped me when I started:

First paragraph: Introduction. Tell them what you're going to tell them. Show them that you've understood the question.

Main body: Tell them what you want to tell them and why it answers the question. Breaking it into sections with sub-headings can help with clarity.

Last paragraph: Conclusion. Tell them what you've just told them. Summarise your answer to the question.