Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Sorry if this is in the wrong section but i'm in a hurry to get my ucas finished today, our teachers are sending ours away in the next day or so.

Anyway, I really want to do medicine at Edinburgh but i'm not sure if i realistically have a shot.

I'm applying from Northern Ireland and I have 5A*'s and 5A's at GCSE, 692.5 in the UKCAT and 4A's at A-level.

If extra curricular stuff matters at all then i do loads of things. I run cross country for school, Gaelic football for school and home town, i'm a qualified IFA referee, i have grade 7 violin and grade 8 piano as well as playing ukulele and guitar, i do the duke of edinburgh award and volunteer at St john's ambulance, my local hospital (south west acute hospital) and at a special needs school.

Any advice or opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

ReputationRep:
    Am not sure what you're asking??

Are you wanting random people on an Internet forum (!!) to 'give an opinion' on something they can't have any real knowledge/control over? Are you basing any decision over what people say here?
    Are you looking for validation?

All that anyone (save an Edinburgh admissions tutor) can genuinely say is: I /my friend were /were not successful with the following background..... How useful would this be to you? So you can take on even more EC?;-) to make yourself more attractive? Work even harder to get even better grades?? Also you wouldn't know which part of the application made them a better candidate....

I assume you know that for vocational 'human service' degrees they will be looking at the whole package as you as a candidate. A pal who interviewed for medical schools said that one of the overall 'gatekeeper' questions for them to score was - based on this interview 'would I want this person as my doctor in x years time?' Anyone who scored a 0 from any interviewer went into the 'no' pile.