Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I didn't mean to make that a poem...

Hello everyone!

So, I'm from/in the United States, but I'm studying International Relations and the Chinese language (I'm not Chinese, just studying the language and culture). I'm graduating in May and thinking about what to do next. One idea is to study in the UK for graduate school and the other is to teach English in China for a while to improve Mandarin and save for grad school. All my friends have moved off for grad school to different parts of the country--even my man is off in China teaching English already for a year. I'm a little older than the undergrads at my college--will graduate at 23 (a late bloomer, let me tell you)--so I'm not interested in the typical American college "party" lifestyle--when I drink, I usually keep it in laid back settings these days.

However, whether I go to the U.K. or to China, I just love the U.K. and want to learn more about it. My favorite English speaking nation is the U.K. I'm incredibly cynical toward my own country (even if I do like Obama, our politics are really jacked up), which is why I'm desperate to travel away. I studied abroad in China this past summer and met a couple of British people, which was really awesome, but I'm not the typical outgoing, forward American and I felt a bit shy around the British people I met. British culture just seems so... refined and intellectual to me. And I have somewhat of a southern accent, which I'm sure sounds repulsive.