Passed my driving test today:) what do I do next?

Watch
username962210
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
--
Last edited by username962210; 1 year ago
MichaelP
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by Toxicated)
Hi all, today I have passed my driving test and I am now legal to drive woop! :P I have no knowledge of what to do next like how insurance work (different type of insurance?), what kind of cars I will be driving or should drive around my age etc.. I am 18 and I turn 19 next year.

I really want to start driving as soon as possible but does anyone know how much my insurance will be around my age? My budget is around £2000 but I really don't want to spend so much just on insurance :/ My friends keep telling me it will be high, if so how would I go about getting it cheaper?

Also if I don't drive for like a year, maybe 2 after passing, will my insurance be any cheaper since I am holding the license but not doing anything with it?

Many thanks
First off congratulations, I'm ultra jealous :P

You are after a first car right? I suggest getting something like a VW Golf or maybe a Polo, depends if you want a petrol/diesel car, 3/5 door etc

Insurance at our age will be quite a bit, usually around the £1500 mark
I'm not sure if it will be cheaper if you hold it but don't drive, I think it will be the same
Build up your no claims (to about 5 years) and insurance will be much cheaper
Runninground
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by Toxicated)
Hi all, today I have passed my driving test and I am now legal to drive woop! :P I have no knowledge of what to do next like how insurance work (different type of insurance?), what kind of cars I will be driving or should drive around my age etc.. I am 18 and I turn 19 next year.