The Student Room Group

Physiotherapy Applications, deadlines, NHS funding and work experience

Hi,

I am wanting to study physiotherapy and I still hope to apply this year to begin next September however I appreciate I've left things very late as I thought I wouldn't be applying until next year.

I've been through the UCAS process before as I'm now a chemistry graduate however I wasn't very sure about what the application deadline situation was like for physiotherapy.

In my experience with chemistry applications, applications were still being received and a lot of offers were still being given out any time up until December/January however chemistry is relatively under subscribed.

In comparison as all of you know physiotherapy is competitive. I wondered, if I applied in December or January, whether I would have a realistic chance of getting onto good courses? I am hoping to apply to Sheffield, Nottingham, Leeds and Birmingham.

I am currently applying for work experience at any and every place I can commute to in my county, and I appreciate that without work experience I won't stand a chance of getting on to a course - this is actually the only thing stopping me from applying right now.

I am hoping to gain experience within the next month so I am able to apply before, or early, December.

One last thing.. Am I right in assuming that tuition fees are fully funded by the NHS for a physiotherapy degree? I've contacted a number of people and they've all said that it is, however I wondered if there were any circumstances or situations that the tuition fees WOULD NOT be paid?

I'd appreciate any incite and advice people could give!

Josh
Reply 1
Hello!