The Student Room Group

Should I drop out of sixth form?

I'm in my first year of sixth form, and I hate it so much. I want to drop out but i don't want to regret my decision whatever I decide to do, and I don't know what I want to do.
By law I have to stay in full time education or have an apprenticeship or training until at least the end of the academic year in which I turn 17. I am already 17, so could technically leave after this academic year.
But basically, should I drop out of sixth form?

Thanks,
Laura

Scroll to see replies

You need to have a plan. Drop out and then do what?

If your answer is "don't know" or "sit around at home watching tv" then stay in education until you figure something out. Without a plan the opportunity cost of dropping out is too great and you should stick with it since it is the best option available to you.
Original post by Tokyoround

If your answer is "don't know" or "sit around at home watching tv" then stay in education until you figure something out. Without a plan the opportunity cost of dropping out is too great and you should stick with it since it is the best option available to you.

Completely and utterly agree. It will never be as easy again to gain qualifications which will last throughout your whole life. Try looking in the mature students forum to get an idea of the uphill task people face when they realise the dead end life they are trapped in cannot be escaped from without qualifications.
Original post by Laura45
I'm in my first year of sixth form, and I hate it so much. I want to drop out but i don't want to regret my decision whatever I decide to do, and I don't know what I want to do.
By law I have to stay in full time education or have an apprenticeship or training until at least the end of the academic year in which I turn 17. I am already 17, so could technically leave after this academic year.

Thanks,
Laura