Question about contract law (offers, acceptance and revocation) Watch

defnek
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi everyone. I'm studying the Graduate Diploma in Law and need to answer this question regarding contract law. I have some thoughts, and would like if people could check over to see if I am on the right lines. Thanks.

The question:

A offers B a contract for the latter to repair the former's goods. This offer is done in letter form, and is written on 1 April. It states that B should accept/reject by letter also. However, A has made a mistake in the address, which results in a delay to the letter, and it only gets there on the 6 April.

On 4 April, C hears about A's offer and decide they want to accept. After telephone negotiations, A offers C the contract to repair the goods and C accepts.

On 6 April, A sends a fax to B telling them that the 1 April offer has been withdrawn. The fax is received at B's office at 9:30 am on a weekday, but no-one at B's office actually reads it until 4:30 that afternoon. On the morning of the 6 April, B gets the original letter of 1 April, and they send their acceptance of the offer at 11:00am.

My answer (paraphrased):

C will get the contract. A has made a valid offer to both B and C, but B had not accepted the offer in time. A has revoked their offer to B under the general rule in Offord v Davies, and B's acceptance came after this revocation, so they could not accept. The rule that revocation must be communicated (which would mean that B would get the contract) does not apply because it was revoked by fax: it was sent during business hours which means that the offer was revoked at 9:30am on 6 April, rather than at 4:30pm (see The Brimnes).

Thanks for any help you can give.
defnek
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
bump
jmargetts
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago