HND Or Degree-Much difference?

Watch
xxartixx
Badges: 1
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
Hi all,

Sorry if this has been posted before but I am driving myself crazy trying to figure out if there is much difference between a HND and a Degree. I am looking to study Business through RDI but after looking at the different courses, I am a bit confused as to which would be better for me.

A bit of background about myself, I don't have A-Levels but I do have two Level 3 qualifications; one in psychology(Not nationally recognised though) and one in Massage Therapy(practical as well as theory). I have atleast 5 years work experience but in different roles and companies. One of the companies I worked at I dealt with a lot of the business side of things.

On speaking to someone at RDI she suggested I apply for the HND but said it was up to me whether I wanted to apply for the degree. I know with the HND it can take from 2-4 years (distance learning) and that I would be able to complete a year top up which makes it a degree? Where as the degree is 3-6 years to complete. Is there much difference? Would I be worse off doing a HND or better off doing a degree?

The degree is through Anglia Ruskin and the HND is edexcel, then the top up is, I think, through Anglia Ruskin or Sunderland.

Thanks
DanH7
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 7 years ago
Hi, I'm currently doing exactly the same thing with RDI,

I'm nearing the end of my 2 year HND course and will be going on to the Degree top up after the degree you get is a full degree and it can be obtained in 3 years. Once you're finished you can go off and use it to better your work prospects.

I have enjoyed it all so far and have found the course structure to be well put together with RDI, of course it's not always easy I've struggled sometimes to find the time to get all the Assignments in on time, but if you need more time you can withdraw your intent to submit and keep working.