The Student Room Group

Transferring into 2nd year of a Law LLB in another university

Currently, I am a 1st year student at Birkbeck, University of London and to be honest, the course isn't what I really expected at first. Of course I admit that sh*tty lecturers and seminarists can be found anywhere and everywhere, even in the likes of Oxbridge or Russell Group universities, but then, there's a stretch between having one or two not so good lecturers/seminarists and having your lecturer/seminarist telling you straight to your face that they won't bother going over your work because they don't actually have the time to do so. I have considerer every pathaway, including dropping out and going to a Spanish university and doing my SATs to get into an American univeristy, which would mean getting a 4 year bachelor degree (major/minor, with the minor being dropped after the 2nd year) and then going on to Law School. To be honest, I have scratched the idea of dropping out seeing I already took a gap year (where switched from PPE to Law).

Due to my willingness to transfer, I am trying to do my best and go for a First in order of making up for my not so spectacular IB grades (33 points...which is pretty much average and needless to say, not nearly enough for most Law courses), and even going as far as taking a Criminal Law module via the Open University, as most universities only accept transfers into qualifying Law degrees (LLB) if you have all the credits and seeing I don't actually do the Criminal Law module at my current course, it would either be ending up in a Law BA or altogether starting from year 1 in another LLB course in most universities.