Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Quick background: I've been a good student all my life and study at a top 5 university in the UK. However, I messed about and got complacent and lazy and failed my second year, which meant I need to repeat it. I couldn't bear the embarrassment of telling everyone I'd failed and me going back to uni and repeating would make it clear I had, so I took the option of staying at home and studying on my own and then retaking the exams at the end of the year. I told this to my parents literally at the last minute, and it was a huge shock to them obviously because they had no idea at all that I was even finding it difficult, let alone failing. My parents took it pretty well, considering, and agreed to let me stay at home and study, and agreed to not tell people I'd failed, but that I was taking some time off for health reasons.

This was back in September and I've been studying and following a good routine since then. But I just feel like such a failure and hate even going on twitter or Facebook because I see all my other friends, who are having fun and doing well. I'm bored and lonely and it's not like I can even do much since I'm supposed to be sick. I see school friends of mine who used to be mediocre to average students, compared to my straight As, who are thriving in university and getting summer jobs and full time jobs. It just hurts, because I know it's my own fault, but hopefully I can get my life back together again.