How to get buses in Lancaster University Watch

Meir1994
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi

I am new to Lancaster University and England overall. I do not know how to use the public transport systems here. What do I say when I get on to the bus from campus into Lancaster town? "Single to Lancaster please?" What exactly should I do? Say it, give the money, take the ticket? Please take me through every small step. Also where are the bus stops?

I know it must seem silly to you but I have just arrived in England and don't want to make a fool of myself!
Lorox
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Okay, first of all, assuming you're on campus then your safest bet is the underpass. There's two stairways leading down to it in Alex Square. When you get down there there'll probably be a conductor selling tickets, if not then you'll just have to ask the bus driver directly, but the same process will apply. Assuming you want to go into Lancaster and return the same day, ask for a "return to the city centre" or "return to the bus station" (they're pretty close to each other and I get off at either stop depending where I want to go), it is a little confusing saying you want a return to a place, when what you actually mean is you want a ticket that will let you go there and then at a later time in the day get on a bus back. It's £2.40 I think for a return, so they'll ask you for that, you pay, you get your ticket.