Wine. Macbook. Help. Crying. Watch

Liller
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi, I elbowed my glass of wine thus causing some to spill on my 2012 13" Macbook Pro (less than a month old may I add!) most of the wine was on my chair and desk, but (I'm guessing) about 2-3tablespoons went on the keyboard of my mbp. My friend held it upside down to hopefully drain out as much as possible, whilst I cleaned it.. Then turned it off and left it open upside down in a cool place over night. Fortunately it seems to be working fine (touch wood!) however I've noticed that the back lit keyboard is only lit up in the centre (keys TYUGHBN and a couple at the top too - I'm pretty sure the others we working yesterday.. just a lot duller than the centre ones) ALSO some of the keys (mainly space bar and possibly a few on left had side) are sticky.. PLEASE HELP ME. I'm a student in my first year of University, I worked all summer to save up for this macbook and within a month of getting it, this happens I even bought 3yr applecare (I know its probably void now) I actually feel like crying. My Mum will go absolutely MENTAL if she finds out, I'm going home for christmas in a month and need to get this fixed before I go! Does anyone know how much its going to cost me? realistically? I'll have to put it on a credit card or something :/ -Thanks in advance
UniMastermindBOSS
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Apple are supposed to have excellent customer support, just take it back to them and say you don't know what happened.

You spent ~2k on a laptop worth no more than 6-700 so don't feel bad about lying to them. If that fails, just tell your parents and ask if you can claim on insurance (and you'll pay the excess)
PinkMobilePhone
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
does applecare not cover accidental damage?
Ayesha1234
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Hey, don't cry! It'll be okay hopefully