Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm in first year at the minute, and my biology teacher briefly mentioned doing an EPQ and gave us some ideas of what people have done it on, however she didn't actually say what it was or if we were even able to complete one in the first year.

I've researched into it and found that it's an AQA 'stand-alone' qualification or can be used as part of a diploma course. And it will require 120 hours of guided learning hours. So I'm definitely not sure about it, and I'm just wondering about what topics you can do it on? I've seen Ethical ones such as 'how will we feed our Childrens children' then it goes on about population increase by the year 2050.

So could you do an EPQ on a biology-related topic, such as Stem cells or G-proteins? Then would that benefit a course at University, such as Medicine? Oh and I'm currently doing:

Further Maths
    Maths
    Biology
    Chemistry

AS levels. So I know it's probably far too soon to even think about an EPQ, but I just wanted to information on it so I could see what's what and start having a look at doing enrichment for UCAS application (which is now under a year away!). Any help would be really appreciated.

- Thank you!

ReputationRep:
    An EPQ is essentially a long project around a subject of your choice. Personally I did mine on ways to solve the shortage of donor organs (and yes, they look very good on medical UCAS forms, and give you something to talk about in interviews). They'll vary slightly depending on what subject you do it in, but my one was a 6000 word essay-style thing and a 10 minute presentation of it. It's all very self-directed and, while you will have a teacher helping to guide you, you will be expected to do all your research and writing yourself.