Unsure and limited Watch

matomi
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
First off, I'm in my last year at College studying the Level 3 Engineering extended diploma with predicted grades of all Distinctions. I chose this because at the time it was pretty much the only option that seemed somewhat enticing enough for me to sign up for. Fairly bad GCSE grades, at least in my opinion, hindered me greatly and pretty much took A-levels away from me.

Now Engineering is never something I've wanted to do, let alone a BTEC, but I've gritted my teeth and stuck with it and tried to get the most out of it. Like many others I'm in the process of applying to University, but I'm dumbfounded in what to do.

The career paths I was interested in while I was at School all feel unrealistic and the reality of that depresses me greatly. Engineering is out of the question. The Career paths I was interested in at School are:
-Accountancy/Actuary/investment Banker, something along this lines.
-A type of Doctor/Surgeon, not very realistic I know, but it's something that interests me.

The certainty of any them happening are fairly low, and unrealistic, but with the qualifications I have now, is there anyway I can salvage my life so far and at least work towards one of those to give me some direction because right now I'm just drifting along.

I know I may sound like I'm exagerating with me only being 18 and having my whole life ahead of me and all, but it depresses me so much having no direction, not knowing what to do...

So yeah, what do?
What could I apply for with the qualificationsI have that is relevant to what I've mentioned?
Should I even bother applying for University next year, or leave it till I've sorted myself out?

Oh yeah, sorry for excessive writing and if it is in the wrong thread.
Origami Bullets
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago