Advice needed: constant discord with an emotionally abusive parent Watch

SaintAndy
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hello,

I am a bloke who is 25 years old. I completed my postgraduate degree from one of the well-known universities in the UK a couple of years ago, and decided to return home. Although my ethnic is Asian, I consider myself westernised due to having been educated in the Commonwealth since 10 years of age.

Below are some of the past incidents I have had with my dad:

• My dad has had an affair with other women since I was very young. He still chats with other women and disappears from the house presumably to meet them when my mum is not around. She is tolerating his behaviour.
  • He used to almost on a daily basis verbally abuse me when my predicted GCSE grades were poor.
  • I then decided to prove him wrong by doing very well during my time as an undergrad; I had the best grades in my class.
  • Upon graduation, he then said he might even love me more if I had not done as well.
  • When I completed my master's degree with the highest honour, my dad did not show the slightest happiness but instead told me not to think that I am 'smart'.
  • I mistakenly decided to return home after graduation to take care of the family business.
  • Without expecting anything in return, the deals that I have helped negotiated benefited my dad, but whenever there is a discord he would always say that it is his money and he can do whatever he wants - and he can simply get rid of the assets that I have helped secured at any time.

Due to his manipulation, I am financially tied to his business. If I choose to move out - which would mean relocating to another country or going back to the UK - I would struggle to be financially independent.

I have confronted him many times in the past about how his words had emotionally abused me, but he has denied any wrongdoing.

Any thoughts?

P.S. Thank you for taking the time to read this rather long post.