Best route for further education teaching? Watch

ooerr
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi,

I will be graduating next year and I've been trying to find out more information about how to get into teaching at colleges/sixth forms, but the things I have found have not been very clear.

I am interested in teaching A-level maths; I have an A-level in maths (obviously) and my degree is partly in maths. What would be the next step for me to be able to realistically get a job as a further education teacher/lecturer? What minimum qualifications do FE institutions usually look for? I am not interested in primary or secondary teaching, as I would prefer to teach older students who actually want to learn.

Thanks in advance.
Shelly_x
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by ooerr)
Hi,

I will be graduating next year and I've been trying to find out more information about how to get into teaching at colleges/sixth forms, but the things I have found have not been very clear.

I am interested in teaching A-level maths; I have an A-level in maths (obviously) and my degree is partly in maths. What would be the next step for me to be able to realistically get a job as a further education teacher/lecturer? What minimum qualifications do FE institutions usually look for? I am not interested in primary or secondary teaching, as I would prefer to teach older students who actually want to learn.

Thanks in advance.
Firstly, older students do not always want to learn. You will find that in the next few years this will be an increasingly common thing as it will be compulsory for them to do some sort of further education or work until they are 18.
Secondly, the most common route would be to do a PCET (Post-Compulsary Education and Training). There are also some School Direct routes which are specifically in FE colleges and sixth forms.
Deja Vu
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago