Durham vs Bristol Watch

Anniechong
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi everyone, I know that this is an old topic but I'm an international student thinking of doing an exchange in the UK so my focus would be different. I would like to be in a place where I can experience the different sides of England. On one hand, Bristol is a vibrant city, on the other hand, Durham is more historic. Where do you guys think is the perfect place for me to get to know England? I'm kind of introverted but at the same would like to maximise the exposure. Also, can anyone tell me about the accommodation in these two unis? Quality living matters a lot to me.
(Tom)
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by Anniechong)
Hi everyone, I know that this is an old topic but I'm an international student thinking of doing an exchange in the UK so my focus would be different. I would like to be in a place where I can experience the different sides of England. On one hand, Bristol is a vibrant city, on the other hand, Durham is more historic. Where do you guys think is the perfect place for me to get to know England? I'm kind of introverted but at the same would like to maximise the exposure. Also, can anyone tell me about the accommodation in these two unis? Quality living matters a lot to me.
Hey Annie, I went to Bristol, so I'm a bit biased, but I think you'd have loads more opportunities to integrate into UK life there. It's a brilliant city for music, culture and history, and there's beautiful countryside right on the doorstep. Quality of living is very good - a lot of international students live in high quality rented accommodation. Excellent food (both cheap and more expensive), loads going on, vibrant communities, and the teaching isn't bad either.

Durham is a great place to study too, but I chose Bristol because I found Durham a bit small, with not enough going on to keep me excited.

Hope that helps... Let the debate commence!
Incredimazing
Badges: 10
Rep:
?