No Close Friends in University Watch

bsuted
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi everyone, I'm in my first year of university and almost finishing my first semester. The problem is (as well stated in title) I have no close friends even though it's been 10 weeks now.

I can't say that my uni experience has been hell. There has been nights that I really had fun, experiences that I really enjoyed. I also made a lot of acquaintances and a few nice friends. I've met a french exchange student who likes the same music as me and we decided to go to gigs together. I've made friends in tutorials and had lunch with them. I've gone out with people from my floor and a floor below. I even met a friend from a weird volunteering thingy and stayed in her flat after a drunken night. These things are not the type of things that I'm very used to. I'm international and in my home country high school is rather quiet. I also have to say I have wonderful friends and family in my country.
But there is something else. It feels like I am the only person who is trying in almost all of my relationships. I make plans. I make appointments. I sometime remind people that I'm alive by sending them questions about stuff that I actually don't need any help of. I am shy when I feel outpowered in social means but I always take the initiative and introduce myself to people.