Should I undertake a business course if I want to start my own business Watch

niall22
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
I'm a university grad but have struggled to find permanent work since finishing uni in summer 2012. I have ideas for business start ups and I love the idea of setting up my own business. However, beyond my Business Studies A Level, I have no business experience or really any idea of how to run and operate a business.

So my question to you is, do you think I should go on a course/do a degree related to business in order to gain more skills and knowledge. So many people don't do this and yet they start their own businesses. I suppose you only really hear about the success stories, like Alan Sugar, which makes it seems is all that you need is a strong work ethic and know what you're doing. So is a course really needed? Is there an alternative?
itsamberariamay
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
There are two ways you learn - from degrees and from real life.

My father told me that he wish he had taken a business related course in the past. It would have taught him all the necessary things.

In real life, you learn from experience. You are given the test first. I know it sounds cheesy, but it's the truth. You learn the lesson later, and you'll try to prevent it in the future.

So, my advice, take a course.

Hope it helped. ^^
Bill_Gates
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by niall22)
I'm a university grad but have struggled to find permanent work since finishing uni in summer 2012. I have ideas for business start ups and I love the idea of setting up my own business. However, beyond my Business Studies A Level, I have no business experience or really any idea of how to run and operate a business.