Help needed. Mature student wanting to do Medicine. Watch

Mystifier2014
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi,

Thanks for looking at this but I really do require some insight and thought.

I'm a graduate of a top Russell brick university who graduated in economics(however a 2.2 with extenuating circumstances, I have all the proof for this).

Currently I'm working for one of the big. 4 companies and have passed all my Aca exams first time with very high marks. In addition to this, I've worked on nhs assignments which has given me an insight to how the profession works.

My A-level grades are AAAa Maths, Business Studies, Chemistry, biology as-level taken in 2007. I would like to take biology a level this year to improve my chances - I most likely will get an A grade.

In addition to this, I will gain experience in a hospital and a GP's surgery where I will volunteer in the weekend.

Could you guys let me know what my chances would be to get into medicine considering my background? I know it's a big career change considering I'm already earning good money and work for a highly respectable firm.

In addition to this, do you believe that by taking my a levels several years ago would hamper my chances as well as my 2.2 degree (I was only 2 marks off a 2.1 and have extenuating circumstances support). By taking the latter part of the as2 biology degree, would this account for a re-sit as it has not been completed within 2 years?

I would be grateful for any input that you may have.

Thanks.
Helenia
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by Mystifier2014)
Hi,

I'm a graduate of a top Russell brick university who graduated in economics(however a 2.2 with extenuating circumstances, I have all the proof for this).

Currently I'm working for one of the big. 4 companies and have passed all my Aca exams first time with very high marks. In addition to this, I've worked on nhs assignments which has given me an insight to how the profession works.