withdrawing from uni. Watch

123rebecca
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi,

I'm thinking of withdrawing from my course on the final day of term 1. (i'm in my 3rd year)

With the reassessment, what does this mean? Is it just for the first term I attended or is it for the full 3 terms aka the academic year?

I spoke with a man from Student Finance on monday who told me that since I will have attended all of my lectures before withdrawing on the last day of term it is unlikely that I will have been overpaid. Even though I will be blocking my second and third payments will I need to pay back any of this terms loans/grants that I received? If I do have to how much do you think it would be? If it's over £600 I will not be able to afford to pay this back in one go, however if this is the case could I pay back £10 per month? (I've read a few other threads on this board and you state that you can either pay it back in full or if you cannot afford it you can pay £10 a month)
123rebecca
Rep:
?
Just a quick update,

I went to my student support area where they have someone for student finance (I'm not sure if its an official employee of SFE or just an adviser with knowledge) He told me that with the Grant, since I will have attended from my course start to course end date for this term I should not owe SFE a thing for the grant.
I then spoke with an adviser for SFE on the phone who told me if I was overpaid (she could not tell me how much she thinks it would be as shes not the one who does the re-assessment) it would be less than £500 as she does not believe I will have to pay that much back. She also mentioned I may have to pay back some of the maintenance loan but as its a loan would I only have to pay it back once I enter employment? (She did tell me I would only pay back the tuition fee once I'm in employment)