Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi!

I'm really struggling with making this decision as I just don't know what to do. I'm currently studying A2 English Language, and when I go to university, I want to study a joint degree within English Language and Creative Writing.

As I want to stay near home, I'm limited to the universities that I can go to. However, all the universities near home are English Literature modules - which I've never studied within depth!

In Year 9 I learnt Macbeth, and in GCSE we had to do our coursework on Thomas Hardy 'The Man He Killed', Shakespeare's 'Romeo and Juliet', and 'Of Mice And Men' by John Steinbeck. That's all I've studied of Literature and never studied it at A-Level as I didn't think I'd be continuing with English.

My friend who studied Literature at AS has given me his folder of all the work he did which I think looks really interesting, especially the poems of Carol Ann Duffy but I don't know if I'd be able to analyse it that much depth.

I love reading and am very keen on Nicholas Sparks' novels and have joined a poetry website where I have uploaded my own work.

I'm really keen on applying to Staffordshire University as the university is amazing, but its the course being literature and having no language modules. I have no idea what to do so someone please help me out.

Thanks for your help! :confused:

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm currently a Year 13 student at the moment with the hopes of doing English Literature at degree level next year.

In your dilemma, I would strongly advise you to pick another university. It should be finding the right university to fit you, not trying to fit yourself to do another course instead.