freshman years mistakes to avoid..share your wisdom Watch

dinnie
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 12 years ago
Now, we are all, most of us, well into college. But wouldn't you agree that we have all committed stupid mistakes through our freshman years. Worse still, we could have easily avoided them – we knew we were on the wrong (may be, you just didn't know).
I think it would be a great idea to share our nightmare experiences. If there are any college-bound teens hanging around in here it would be some help to them.

Hmm, to start it all off, here is a brief list of my blunders:
1. Not studying regularly: I was a straight A student at school but upon entering college, I got so addicted to the Internet and hanging out that eventually I ended doing all-nighters before exams. It was really awful. My grades were affected and I can see how it could all have been avoided if I had exercised some more will power.

2. Not befriending seniors: I am a dab hand at making friends. I made so many out there. I really felt proud and did not think that it was any need befriending any senior as I had loads of friends in my class. I did not realize that these friends were not good enough to guide me through the college rules and not just experienced enough to acquaint me of the tricks and tactics that work at this college.

3. I wasn't much of a speaker at class. This was probably because I wasn't doing my self-study at home but it did affect my rapport with the teachers who had earlier, during the admission procedure, been impressed with my school performance.
amie
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 12 years ago
My advice would be to always, always make revision notes as you go along. I ended up making AS revision notes during my A2 revision! Don't ask why... just don't do it if you want to get your predicted grades :p:
Lewisy-boy
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 12 years ago