Worried about moving schools for sixth form? Watch

restless5oul
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
I'm in Year 11 and right now it's that time when people are looking around other schools for potential options for sixth form. At first I was sure I was just going to stay at my current school (not a great school, grades are a bit shoddy) but then it occurred to me. Am I holding myself back?
Without trying to sound big headed, I am a capable and bright student (cringe I know) and I think my current school isn't challenging me enough academically. So I have been looking around at other schools.
The only problem is I have social anxiety so trying to fit into new social situations is like a living nightmare for me, the idea that I might be stuck in an unfamiliar place with little or no people I know is terrifying. But at the same time I don't want to keep myself from succeeding and getting into a good university.
And because of these I have been reluctant to attend any open evenings and have missed many. I'd really love some advice on what you think I should do.
Should I move, potentially into a new school where I don't know anyone? Or stay (where I could still get decent grades) but let everyone move ahead of me and not get into as good of a university as I could?
Thanks in advance
nguyenj
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
I personally think you should go for it and apply at a different sixth form/college to be honest. You don't want to be continuing on with life, always thinking about what would have happened if you did this instead.

There's a likely chance that you'll regret it if you don't. I know how social anxiety can be horrible, but we all come to different situations throughout our life, and this would be a good start to help overcome that.