Things to do to prepare for PGCE application? Watch

casanova_lament
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi all,
I'm currently a third year student looking to apply for a modern languages PGCE for 2015 entry. I'm on my year abroad at the moment working as a British Council language assistant but I'm wondering what kind of things I should be doing now to help prepare me better for applying next year? Thanks
awe
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Simply make sure you have as much classroom experience as possible. I have applied this year without any direct classroom experience and I am not too hopeful of my chances being accepted - however, I have compensated, and do have a placement for January. Despite this it is still the most lacking and painful thing about my application. So get that experience!
Getting a placement abroad would be very impressive too, and definitely something you could make interesting chat about in your PS/more so in your interview. If you have the time, hunt around and find the right people to speak to for a placement in the country you're in. Hopefully you can obtain a DBS check there, or if they have a different system, hopefully you are still allowed to work with children.

Do everything you can - any extra-curricular activities etc. Just be as fully proactive with volunteering opportunities as possible.
myrtille
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
For MFL you shouldn't have too much trouble getting a place - it's a shortage subject and I know the university where I did my PGCE last year struggled to get enough people this year. Obviously they turned away people who they didn't think had what it takes, but it wasn't like English or History where they have to turn away really strong candidates because there just aren't enough places available.