Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I'm a 4th year chemistry student about to start applying for technical jobs (BP, Rolls Royce etc..). I have a pretty good academic record (1st) and my C.V is pretty good (Lots of voluntary work etc.) however there is one thing i am worried will undo all my hard work and it's the fact that I don't have an internship. Everyone who I know who is successful (which granted isn't that many people) has an internship and I'm getting really caught up on this fact.

A couple friends even told me to fabricate one on my C.V as according to them it's a common practice and hardly anyone gets caught. I even considered it for a while but I really don't want to do this as I hate lying but at the same time I really don't want to end up jobless (or not get that jobs that i aspire to) even though i have a good degree and consider myself a relatively hard working and smart person.

I guess I just want to get people's opinions on anything I can do to help me overcome this lack of formal internship or if it is really is as crucial as to get employed as I think it is.

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    Work experience helps but isn't mandatory.

I know at my company (similar to the ones you've mentioned) if they find you've fabricated any part of your CV it's a potentially fraudulent offense that can mean your employment is terminated without notice if they find out - not worth the risk in my view, as this could happen at any point in the future, even 10 years down the line, and companies can and will seek employment references and or credit/employment checks to check for this - there is a much higher chance of being found out than you might think - e.g. http://www.experian.co.uk/background...screening.html - a simple paid for service which companies are very likely to use. Same with qualifications etc.