First class masters (80%) will this help me? Watch

tick700
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
I have a law degree 2:1 (66%) and LLM with distinction (80%). Could anyone tell me what my chances are of a training contract?
myfyriwr
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Where did you study your various courses? Do you have any relevant extra-curricular experience? Have you done any vacations schemes? Do you have any language skills? Which firms are you thinking of applying to? Do you feel like you've got a fairly strong grasp on the 'commercial awareness', and are you confident at interview?

More of this kind of info is needed before anyone can gauge what your chances are!
Dopamine Dreams
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Honestly, an LL.M is quite an insignificant factor in securing a training contract. If you did it because of that, that's a waste of both time and money. Firms don't particularly care for LL.M's.
tick700
Rep:
?
(Original post by myfyriwr)
Where did you study your various courses? Do you have any relevant extra-curricular experience? Have you done any vacations schemes? Do you have any language skills? Which firms are you thinking of applying to? Do you feel like you've got a fairly strong grasp on the 'commercial awareness', and are you confident at interview?

More of this kind of info is needed before anyone can gauge what your chances are!
Studied the courses at Manchester uni
tick700
Rep:
?
(Original post by Dopamine Dreams)
Honestly, an LL.M is quite an insignificant factor in securing a training contract. If you did it because of that, that's a waste of both time and money. Firms don't particularly care for LL.M's.
I have an llm in intellectual property law, if that helps.
Dopamine Dreams
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by tick700)
I have an llm in intellectual property law, if that helps.
Not particularly! Sure it might help you once you're in the job but it's unlikely to be an important factor in securing a TC.
happyinthehaze