Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I rarely post on this, so please bare with me.

I am currently studying stage 1 of a maths degree at Newcastle university, at A-level I managed to achieve A*AB in Maths, Chemistry and Physics. Through school and college, I often self taught myself (especially in maths) using the internet and past papers as I learn a lot better this way. In my lectures I sit and take all the notes, however don't always completely understand what I am writing down. I originally planned to read over the notes to again self teach so I fully understand the basics, however I seem to have a huge work load.

I currently have 6 modules, each of which have 4 assignments in total and 4 online tests (for semester one). The online tests aren't too bad as they are standard examples which can be practised before the actual assessment, however they are time consuming. The assignments are proving to be very difficult and time consuming considering there are 6 of them at one time. As both of these go towards my grade at the end of the year, I spend a huge amount of time on them and have been getting good marks, however I never have time to revise over my notes for the standard examples which would make me a lot less stressed, allow me to tackle the assignments and tests with much less difficulty and also help me be more prepared before my revision for January. In a sense, I wish there were only final exams to revise for as this would help me understand the content of the course much easier.

Occasionally I think about leaving university altogether as I am unsure whether it is worth this amount of stress and difficulty. I was just wondering if anybody had any advise to help me put my mind at ease? Thank you

ReputationRep: