The Student Room Group

help with picking alevels please?

I'm currently a year 11 student. I want to take English Language, Sociology and Psychology. I have no idea what to take for my fourth subject and would really like some help or some info on what these subjects are going to be like. I've already got an A in English Language IGCSE but don't take sociology or psychology. Would I find it harder that people who did sociology as a gcse? Please help?!?!?:s-smilie::smile:

Scroll to see replies

A language?!?

Studying a language at a levels makes a student stand out, shows that you're cultured. I think a European language would look great with those choices :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by Somegirl123
I'm currently a year 11 student. I want to take English Language, Sociology and Psychology. I have no idea what to take for my fourth subject and would really like some help or some info on what these subjects are going to be like. I've already got an A in English Language IGCSE but don't take sociology or psychology. Would I find it harder that people who did sociology as a gcse? Please help?!?!?:s-smilie::smile:

What do you want to do at after college/sixth form?

You do not require sociology or psychology at all for gcse. Doesnt really help i reckon anyways.
Reply 3
I do sociology as a GCSE, it's good, but if you don't have a good enough memory to remember all the terms and theories for the exam you're screwed! (I seem to be forgetting everything but I have a mock exam in two weeks, moment of truth!)

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 4
Original post by harrietainsley
A language?!?

Studying a language at a levels makes a student stand out, shows that you're cultured. I think a European language would look great with those choices :smile:

i'm taking german for gcse and am so bad at it so i cant take a language:frown:
Reply 5
Original post by staticas