The Student Room Group

I want to change university. Already.

I'm currently studying English Literature at the University of Leeds but I'm not entirely happy here.

I was so sure of Leeds before I came here - I took an 'Access to Leeds' scheme where you basically do some essays before you get your A level results and, if you pass, they lower the grade boundaries from AAA to ABB. I did this and passed, although I needn't have bothered because I got AAA anyway. I also applied to a first year scholarship which I'm now in full receipt of 9 grand this year.

However, I didn't get the accommodation I wanted. I'm currently living quite far away from the university campus itself and in the "boring halls" as it's known. It's mainly for international students and there's a dead atmosphere and it's really anti-social. I was told coming to uni that there would be a flux of new people that I would be constantly meeting from everywhere but that could not be further from the truth. There has been no flat parties or meetings or anything. I only ever see 4 people in my flat - 2 are Chinese so they stick with their international friends that they made before we all came and one of them stays in her room a lot.
I'm really devastated I didn't get the "halls experience" and feel it's a really big part in the university. It's making me really unhappy and I've started to go home quite a lot.

On top of this, I don't like one of my modules either! I think semester 2 will be better and I know the course improves a lot better in second/third year and there's a war in Literature module I really want to do. Having said this, I don't want to live with my flat mates in a house next year. I'm dying to have the halls experience properly.

So, I started looking at Manchester university. Either to start as a first year in halls there next year, or in halls as a second year. I'm pretty much certain I want to go there, the only problem is they don't do my dream module! (The war in Literature one.)