Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Just wanted to ask someone who knows about wifi about how the wifi/emf works. Someone i live with spends all night on ps3 and the wifi modem constantly glickers fast. I wondered if the wifi/emf would just go in a line from the modem to the playstation or would the rlectric field be increased all over the house? In other words are people in the upstairs rooms being exposed to more emf (even if they have nothing comnected in theor room) as a result of someone playing on playstation all night? Or does it make no difference if the playstation is on or not?

ReputationRep:
    Although I am not an expert in the matter, I am pretty sure that when you increase the bandwidth between the router and a given connected device, then that additional bandwidth/communication is sent out in a sphere around the router, as the router has no information on where your computer physically is. As such, you are correct that anyone in other rooms would notice an increase in the emf from the router.

However, what I don't know is that high the emf from the router will be, compared to other waves - TV transmissions, radio transmissions, mobile phone transmissions, etc. Given that the range of those signals is much bigger than the range of your router, I would assume this are going to be more powerful.

In terms of health risks, there is almost no evidence to suggest wifi signals cause health damage. For instance, the wavelength of wifi is around the same as cosmic background radiation.

However:

ReputationRep:
    I think that is a question best saved for the elders of the internet.

Name:  l-640-429-b74f1e4a-31c0-4821-aadd-1e736b8e41e8.jpeg
Views: 119
Size:  32.5 KB

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by inthedark1)